CONGAS TO DARBUKA

Use this forum to discuss about all the other percussions and/or to suggest a new specified forum to add

CONGAS TO DARBUKA

Postby CongaTick » Sat Jun 25, 2011 3:54 pm

Anybody make the transitional addition of darbuka to their conga/bongo armory? I'm seriously considering it, but a little intimidated by the learning curve.
CongaTick

Re: CONGAS TO DARBUKA

Postby Jerry Bembe » Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:47 pm

Tick,

I am no expert here but I have some first hand experience.

I recomend the Alexandria Darbuka with 6 tuning screws (about 10 1/2"). It has a nice rounded edge so it is easy on the hands. These Alexandria Darbukas are sometimes ugly but they are the best.

In my younger days, I had the brass and steel models that were not Alexandria and they are much harder on the hands due to the rim. These look nicer but I sold all of these years ago and I only have one Darbauka (it is all I woulde ever need).

The rhythms for the Tar and Daf work very nicely on the Darbuka.
Jerry Bembe

Postby Psych1 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:35 am

I've got these + a few others. I like the weight of the brass. Learning curve lasts forever. like Bata. But worth it. Start over - get a teacher. Better yet - come to Turkey.
Attachments
IMG_0110.JPG
Psych1

Postby p.a.dogs1 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 7:51 am

p.a.dogs1

Postby Skulmoski » Mon Jun 27, 2011 12:26 pm

I prefer the doumbek over the darbouka; it is easier to get the slaps I am used to with a conga.

GJS
Skulmoski

Postby bongosnotbombs » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:43 pm

My stepfather is Turkish and has been taking doumbek lessons recently. Apparently there is a "Mid-East" percussion camp in Mendocino California. He always gets me to play some basic part for him to play to. The doumbek is a great instrument, but I do find the technique a little vexing. I kind of feel it's a little more similar to bongo technique than conga technique. Go for it, seems like a very versatile instrument with a whole new world of rhythms.
bongosnotbombs