Should I buy a new set of bongos?  Which one?

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Postby Firebrand » Sun Oct 24, 2004 2:25 pm

Guys,

I've been playing bongos professionally since I was 9 years of age. My most consistent gig is performing with my father (http://members.tripod.com/Lilor/index.htm) as the percussionist. The music is mostly Caribbean-Flamenco guitar music, with influences from Puerto Rico, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Brazil, etc. We play a lot of different stuff. My main instruments is Bongo, and occasionaly Peruvian Cajon (when we do flamenco stuff or sambas).

I've been using the same bongo for the last 10 years. It's an LP Matador. From what I've heard, LP's Matador line is really LP's old Generation I bongos.

Question: Should I upgrade and buy an LP Giovanni model/Fiberglass Galaxy model or other professional top quality model? If so, why should I do that (is sound significantly better, louder etc. OR should I just retrofit my bongo with a nice X-Ray head and continue playing with my Matador.

Personally, my bongo seems like it doesn't project super loudly, and I can't never get my macho head to stay nice and high pitch, to give crackling accents. But, it "does the job" as they say.

I'm actively checking on EBAy for upgraded models, so please respond ASAP with your advice.
Firebrand

Postby Raymond » Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:18 am

If you have the money and want to, definitively, you should upgrade.

Matador's are really good set of bongos but for example, the LP Generation II model will provide more volume. Cannot explain it to you "technically" but the construction of the pro model allows more projection and better sound.