LP vs. Toca - matador?

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

Postby gus » Fri Jan 24, 2003 10:49 pm

Hey all, I'm new around here, as well as a new conguero-

I was browsing previous posts and many say that Matadors are a good start for beginners, however I was noticing that the price on the top-o-the-line Toca or Pearl is less than or close to that of the matador, which is supposedly just an intermediate drum. Which is a better choice? I have been playing drumkit for 8 years, and I'm kind of ambitious for delving into the world of hand percussion. Any advice that you guys have would be great.

Adios
-G
gus

Postby Michael S » Sat Jan 25, 2003 4:14 pm

I, too, am a relative newcomer to hand percussion, having played kit for years and switching to congas about three years ago. (May I suggest registering with this forum; it is extremely good and helpful. The site is unmatched for its library of rhythms.) I became annoyed at the prices of LP drums, as compared with other companies, as they all seemed to be mass produced in Thailand, probaby for pennies a day. A major difference in quality among drums is in head selection. The so-called entry level drums usually have thin, inferior heads and non-traditional sizes that will prevent a cost effective change to better sounding heads. I personally don't know why Matadors are so expensive for so-called intermediate level drums. (I do like their lug plate design, though.) But I also think they are good drums.