Hi! Just signed up so here is a little introduction.

If you don't find a specific forum, post your message here (please read all the forum list first).

Hi! Just signed up so here is a little introduction.

Postby oldNewConga » Fri Nov 15, 2019 3:04 pm

Hi all, although I see that this forum is quiet these days the respect with which people treat each other encouraged me to sign up in the hope it picks up again.

I started studying percussion in the late 80s after happening upon recordings by the likes of Sabu Martinez and the Alegre All Sars. I studied hard throughout the 90s (trying to move my 24 frames a second videos of Giovanni/Changuito etc forward one frame at a time to see if I could figure our double stroke rolls! (You couldn't work it out because his hands moved too fast!)). I am in the UK and probably learned most about Brazilian percussion in the end, but I love all manner of percussion.

I ended up moving in other musical directions through the first decade of this century. I have played my congas casually for the last decade, but recently have found myself with the impulse to study again. Finding this place, and seeing so much great material on youtube has definitely inspired me.

I was always more interested in grooves than soloing, but now am interested in really developing that side of my playing, with the information that is out there now.

Anyway, I realise this forum is quiet these days, and saw the post where people spoke of moving to facebook. Personally I prefer forums so hope things pick up here. We'll see.
oldNewConga

Re: Hi! Just signed up so here is a little introduction.

Postby oldNewConga » Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:32 pm

Hey I see a couple of people have viewed this! Reply! I'd love to hear from you
oldNewConga

Postby Chtimulato » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:32 pm

Hello and welcome.
No, this forum is not dead.

If you browse these pages, you'll certainly find some ideas to develop your pratice. But feel free to ask.

:D
Chtimulato