Advice for Conga playing with Djembes?

If you don't find a specific forum, post your message here (please read all the forum list first).

Advice for Conga playing with Djembes?

Postby markab » Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:52 pm

What are some good ways a conga can complement the djembes that predominate in drum circles?

I am a novice conga player, don't have a music background, learning from books and web.

There are a some drum circles I play with. They are predominantly djembes, and there have been no other congas in the few months I have been going. I try to play the main pattern with a tweak or two added, or a simple complementary pattern -- just trying to take advantage of the conga's different sounds to contribute something understated but good.

So that's what I'm asking about: musical things to do with conga sounds that aren't flashy but make a unique contribution to a circle of djembes.
markab

Re: Advice for Conga playing with Djembes?

Postby Sakuntu » Sat Jul 12, 2014 3:44 am

congas can sound great with djembes. As the djembes play on the higher register you can fill in a nice melodic rhythmic base with the earthy tones of the conga. in west african music, the dunun bass drums are played traditionally with djembes. learn some dunun rhythms and apply them to the congas at your next circle. should sound nice.
Sakuntu
Sakuntu

Postby rhythmrhyme » Wed Jul 23, 2014 12:59 am

Sakuntu wrote:congas can sound great with djembes. As the djembes play on the higher register you can fill in a nice melodic rhythmic base with the earthy tones of the conga. in west african music, the dunun bass drums are played traditionally with djembes. learn some dunun rhythms and apply them to the congas at your next circle. should sound nice.

+1 on this, great advice from Sakuntu. Pays respect to the roots of the rhythms and sounds great! I've done this, it works :D
Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana
rhythmrhyme

Postby rhythmrhyme » Wed Jul 23, 2014 1:01 am