New Guy with Questions and Sore Hands

If you don't find a specific forum, post your message here (please read all the forum list first).

New Guy with Questions and Sore Hands

Postby Hawker » Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:56 am

Hello,
I'm new here and just wanted to say Hi. I've been playing drums for forty years (jazz and blues mostly) and have just decided I'd like to give Congas a try. I was actually asked to do a club gig on Conga and because I knew the guy I said yes. Went out and borrowed a Conga, visted YouTube for about three hours and went out and did the gig. Frankly, it went very well and several people asked how many years I had been playing. I told them three....hours. :)

Anyway, due to bad technique or no technique at all, this is day two of very sore hands. I've been icing them but they still remain somewhat swollen and the knuckles really hurt. So question #1. Does everyone get sore hands in the beginning or is it ONLY because of poor technique?

2. The drums I borrowed are LP Aspire models. Apparently they are not all that great a drum but I would think they are good enough to learn on. My problem is that I keep hitting my thumb on the metal rim when I play. I have noticed that there is very little space between where the edge of the head drops off and the rim...maybe an inch. Also noticed that other drums seem to be a lot deeper there. So am I hitting my thumb because of bad technique or is this a poor design?

3. Is it reasonable to look for good used drums on Ebay or CL? If so, can you give me a few good names or models to look for?

4. If I was only going to start with one size drum...what should that be?

Thanks much, I'm looking forward to hanging out here a bit and learning a lot.
Steve

PS: I live in the Atlanta area...any teachers in this neck of the woods?
Hawker

Re: New Guy with Questions and Sore Hands

Postby Anonimo » Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:05 am

POST REMOVED BY THE AUTHOR
Anonimo

Postby CongaTick » Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:31 pm

Hawker,