Problems With The Conventional Conga . . .

If you don't find a specific forum, post your message here (please read all the forum list first).

Problems With The Conventional Conga . . .

Postby smcolema » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:04 pm

Fellow Conga Crazies,

I'm a grad student at a design school in NC. My current project is designing "The next generation conga."
So . . .

1. What would you say are the biggest problems with using a normal traditional conga?

2. Would you like to see a new design that is all digital, or something that still incorporates a tunable head?

Thanks for your help!

>Sean>
smcolema

Re: Problems With The Conventional Conga . . .

Postby bongosnotbombs » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:52 pm

Congamyk said it best:

Ideally.....

I'd like quinto+conga+tumba and they would only weigh 1 LB each.
They would be foldable into a wallet size space for easy transport.
They would be twice as loud as any drum on earth.
They would never give me callouses cause they would feel like playing fluffy clouds -even when cracking the loudest slaps.

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=5213&start=15

Please design these congas.
bongosnotbombs

Postby Mike » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:29 pm

smcolema wrote:
1. What would you say are the biggest problems with using a normal traditional conga?

That you always struggle for the best sound, but that is not a problem, rather the challenge we all love to face!

smcolema wrote:
2. Would you like to see a new design that is all digital?

What....? :twisted:

smcolema wrote:something that still incorporates a tunable head?

Sean, we are talking about musical instrument with a rich history, with "natural ingredients",wood & skin,
sweat and passion of the players, not drum computers :roll:

Sorry, but honestly, you should think your project over, it is leading nowhere.
Peace & drum
Mike

Postby Jibaro » Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:11 pm

Mike wrote:
Sean, we are talking about musical instrument with a rich history, with "natural ingredients",wood & skin,