Panderos, Pleneras, Plena drums

Use this forum to discuss about all the other percussions and/or to suggest a new specified forum to add

Postby Salvarican » Mon Jan 30, 2006 3:03 pm

Hello, im new to this board and im looking for some decent Plena drums. Its a tough decission for me since im just getting into playing plena and im not familiar with brands or plena artisans. Please help me get some decent drums for a decent price. Much appreciated.
Salvarican

Postby ralph » Mon Jan 30, 2006 3:45 pm

you may want to check out
http://www.bombaboricua.com

for links and info on artisans who make these instruments...if you want a more commercial product than lp makes some wooden ones, and some plastic ones with synthetic skins, which i don't necessarily recommend but i have....talk to one of the artisans...the real deal it always better...

Ralph

Edited By ralph on 1138635964
ralph

Postby Berimbau » Mon Jan 30, 2006 4:29 pm

Hey Ya'll,
Now Salvarican is it a panderetta you are looking for? Cause all I found on the site Ralph so kindly listed were bomba drums, which is yet another beautiful Puerto Rican tradition. Now Sal if it IS a panderetta (sometimes erroniously called a "plenera") I have seen sets of three on E-Bay from time to time at very nice prices. The Memphis drum shop does have a nice 12" wooden one right now.
Back in my NYC days we made them from old banjo parts which sounded ok. I remember Juan Guiterez had a very nice one made out of metal, heavy, but quite loud and intense. Back in those pre-internet days you actually had to go to PR to get that axe!

Saludos,

Berimbau
Berimbau

Postby Salvarican » Mon Jan 30, 2006 4:37 pm