CHEKERE

Use this forum to discuss about all the other percussions and/or to suggest a new specified forum to add

Postby Laurent Lamy » Fri Apr 13, 2001 3:21 pm

Who knows the chekere, fantastic instrument. It's like two instruments: adrum and a shaker...
Laurent Lamy

Postby willowwilg » Sun Apr 22, 2001 12:24 pm

last friday i saw a band (angata; half french half english), they built their whole rhythm around the shekeré's. it was excellent.
i love the sound, it can be used like a snare, you can dance/juggle with it and the sound cuts through really well.
willowwilg

Postby JohnnyConga » Wed Oct 31, 2001 11:57 pm

I have been making and selling Chekeres for over 25 years and I still have the first one I ever made. I think it is an instrument all unto it's self and have definate purposes in Afro-Cuban music.. I have a piece called "Chekere" that is simple with 5 chekeres. Anyone can make up a rhythmic pattern,so try 5 Chekeres the next .time...JC JOHNNY CONGA....
JohnnyConga

Postby timo » Tue Nov 20, 2001 12:48 pm

hi JC
how would you go about making a chekere, it intrests me because i was wathing this instruction thing and the rhythm soundet relly great, i know its made of gourd and sea shells or something. but are there any speciffic things i would have to know in order to make one?
timo

Postby Pancho » Tue Nov 20, 2001 3:30 pm

I've seen the Pancho Sanchez Band play 4 gourds of different pitch, and the sound produced is fantastic! Synchronization of the bead-rhythm and the Udu-like tone can make for a serious groove.
Pancho

Postby JohnnyConga » Thu Nov 22, 2001 6:47 pm