Let's talk about Djembe - Djembe

Use this forum to discuss about all the other percussions and/or to suggest a new specified forum to add

Postby akdom » Tue Aug 17, 2004 4:14 am

Hi there

Why don't we talk about Djembe and share knowledge and experience?
I would love to share sheet music too.
I will have a website on West African music soon and I still have some data missing. I might need help.
Ok, Let's start the discussion here.

See ya
akdom

Postby JohnnyConga » Tue Aug 17, 2004 4:50 pm

Hi Akdom...well I played for about 7 years with the Chuck Davis Afro American Dance Co. out of New York City. I got to meet Ladji Camara and see the Ballet du Senegal...You want to see jimbe played, go see the Senegalese Ballet if their in your town....there are many great Jimbe players, another one is Mustapha Tetty Addy of the famous Ghanain family of Addy. My first Jimbe teacher was Yomi Yomi Awoldwo from the Bronx,, he was the lead drummer for Chucks Company, and then I studied a bit with Ritchie "Pablo" Landrum at I.S. 201 in Harlem as part of the Jazzmobile program. Paid one dollar for lessons with some major musicians,Pablo- Charlie Persip -Dr. Billy Taylor and others.....I still have my ID card for it. They don't have things like that today for the youth,and they wonder why the get all frigged up and stupid. But anyway, here is a bit of my history with the Jimbe....JC JOHNNY CONGA.... :;):
JohnnyConga

Postby akdom » Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:09 pm

Hi JC

Unfortunately, I leave in place(s) where ther is not even a cd store.... so forget about live shows.... Anyways, I don't really want to hear about djembe, but just share things such as sheet music, info on origins of some rhythms etc.... Iwould like to see more people involved in djembe playing at a serious level.
Anyways, thank you for your reply, you seem to be the only one active in this forum:D

Talk to you soon
akdom

Postby JohnnyConga » Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:02 pm