I suppose no one plays didjeridu? - Probably a vain hope

Use this forum to discuss about all the other percussions and/or to suggest a new specified forum to add

Postby Fish » Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:27 pm

Just wondering if anyone here plays or is learning didjeridu (or didgeridoo or however you want to spell it). I've checked out didj forums but no one is as nice as you guys. :D There's just a few things I'm unsure I'm doing right.

Hopefully someone will reply...

Fish
Fish

Postby 120decibels » Fri Nov 08, 2002 1:12 pm

Fish,

I've dabbled it Didj a bit. I'm definitely not an authority, but I'd be happy to share any info I can. What are you looking for?

Zach
120decibels

Postby Fish » Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:27 pm

Ok, I started learning didj about 2 months ago and I'm at the stage where I'm trying to incorporate circular breathing into my playing. I'm unsure if I am meant to snatch a breath at a set time in each bar (I think of it as being in bars of 4/4) or just when I can. Also when I do snatch a breath there is a definite rise in pitch and a short gap before I can start droning again. Will this disappear with practice?

Thanks,

Fish
Fish

Postby Fish » Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:28 pm

Also, have you heard of a band called Brother. I have'nt got round to getting any of their songs, but it appears that they incorporate didj and bagpipes into a standard rock outfit.

Sounds like it could be cool!!

Fish
Fish

Postby 120decibels » Mon Nov 11, 2002 2:12 pm

Fish,

Haven't heard of Brother. I'll have to check them out.

I am also struggling with circular breating. However, I have seen experienced players do it with little or no change in pitch.

Anything you can do to stay in rhythm and make it sound like nothing's changing as you breathe is a good thing.

Zach
120decibels

Postby Chelsea » Tue Nov 12, 2002 6:19 am

Hey Fish,