Artisan Shekeres - Handcrafted for percussionists

Sell your intruments here, or post up any bargains you come across for sale.
Forum rules
Sell your own gear here, or post up any links to sales of percussion instruments.
KEEP IT POSITIVE PLEASE, SAVE ANY NEGATIVITY TO PRIVATE MESSAGE.

Artisan Shekeres - Handcrafted for percussionists

Postby slinginit » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:36 pm

These are the first few of the "Burst Series" I'm assembling. Taking cues from burst finishes on guitars and drums, I'm creating a line of shekeres geared toward drummers and perussionists who may want something different. Very eye-catching, these are functional instruments and I'm doing my best to raise the craftsmanship bar on these. Details for each one below. I've been making shekeres for over 17 years and endeavor to create instruments that I couldn't afford when I was a student.

Many new desings ahead; custom ideas always welcome. Thanks for looking! :)
Attachments
Picture 158.jpg
Picture 159.jpg
Picture 168.jpg
Picture 170.jpg
slinginit

Re: Artisan Shekeres - Handcrafted for percussionists

Postby slinginit » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:39 pm

Cobalt Burst: $55 shipped SOLD

Inspired by blue fade/burst finishes, this shekere features 3 different kinds of blue faded into a bright center. There are 30 leads, 12 double-bead rows totalling 720 beads.

Collar and hem made from gold/beige nylon cord; net made from nylon twine for durability and strength.

Functional instrument with adjustable tension at bottom and solid bottle gourd.

Gourd is strong, light weight, and easy to hold. Plenty of slap space on the bottom. Stands at 12" with a solid 10" diameter chamber. Most gourds with a chamber that large stand taller but the shape of this is shorter with ample handling. Think "bowling ball" for size reference on this gourd.

NOTE: Few of the bottle gourds I get are strong enough for a shekere. This is a very unique gourd with a brighter resonant sound.