Buenos Dias

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Buenos Dias

Postby mpags » Fri Oct 01, 2021 2:58 pm

Hola amigos,
I am new to the forum and also to bongos. My name is Michael and I live in Oaxaca, Mexico. I am a vocalist and guitarist but have recently been learning bongos to add an element of hand percussion to a small jazz, bossa and bolero ensemble. It has been very fun and very addictive!

I have appreciated reading through many of the threads here and have learned a lot. I started with a cheap Extreme set but quickly realized the limitations and those will go to some young person here in Oaxaca who would like to learn but whose family may not have the means to buy them a set. I have since purchased a set of LP Matador in natural. They look and sound great. But I have noticed that the macho doesn´t have the articulation that would be ideal.

Reading through many of the threads and comments, I can see this is a common issue and the recommendation often has been to replace them with muleskin. Does anyone know of a good supplier here in Mexico or in the U.S. for these? I would prefer a flat skin and fit it myself. I´ve done one and really enjoyed it!

Thanks in advance and looking forward to learning a lot from this group.
mpags

Re: Buenos Dias

Postby Chtimulato » Fri Oct 01, 2021 5:12 pm

Hola.
Welcome here, compañero.

It should be easier for you than for me find something in Mexico or in another South American country... :)

In the USA, I can recommend this well-known site :
https://manitopercussion.com/
or this one : http://www.sterntanning.com/

Mule has become harder to find nowadays, at least here in Europe.

If you absolutely want to buy mule, start to save money and go here : https://primordialvibespercussion.com/ (I believe they're based in Australia).
Chtimulato

Postby mpags » Fri Oct 01, 2021 6:34 pm

Chtimulato wrote:Hola.
Welcome here, compañero.