Remo Nuskyn vs Fiberskyn heads

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Remo Nuskyn vs Fiberskyn heads

Postby Mark Brodie » Tue Mar 16, 2021 6:27 am

Has anyone here had experience with these two bongo skins?

I currently have a pair of Matadors with Nuskyns on them which I like fairly well. I just saw a macho Fiberskyn head advertised on Craigslist for $40, and was wondering if they’re superior in any way to the Nuskyn.

I don’t want to shell out any money if there’s essentially little or no difference.

Cheers,

Mark
Mark Brodie

Re: Remo Nuskyn vs Fiberskyn heads

Postby Mark Brodie » Wed Mar 17, 2021 6:29 pm

C’mon guys, all I’m asking for is two cents! :)
Mark Brodie

Postby Siete Leguas » Wed Mar 17, 2021 9:14 pm

Hi Mark, a friend of mine has a Matador bongó with Fiberskyn 3 on both drums. I have played it a couple of times and it sounds very nice to me, although I do prefer the feel of natural skins. That's all I can say, I have no experience with other synthetic heads, so no idea how they compare to Nuskyn, Skyndeep or the rest. There goes my 1 cent :). Sorry I can't provide any further help.
Siete Leguas

Postby Juaort » Thu Mar 18, 2021 1:30 am

Hi Mark. I like the Fiberskin myself. I’ve seen some of the pros use them and they sound pretty sweet. Not 100% on the Nuskyns. I ordered a set of the low collar ones. Those keep the rims a little higher on the shells. I prefer that look.

Juaort
Juaort

Postby Juaort » Thu Mar 18, 2021 1:35 am

Skyndeeps seem to be a great choice as well, like Siete Leguas, I also prefer the real deal. Real skins are the way to go for me.

Juaort
Juaort

Postby Mark Brodie » Thu Mar 18, 2021 6:27 am

Cheers guys, appreciate your thoughts and feedback!

I may pick up this skin. For only $40, it’s a good deal and it’d be good to have an extra macho head around.

Mark
Mark Brodie

Postby Siete Leguas » Thu Mar 18, 2021 8:26 pm