What is the importance of Clave rhythm in bongos playing ?

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

What is the importance of Clave rhythm in bongos playing ?

Postby Beatnik07 » Mon Dec 23, 2019 3:50 pm

Clave is mentioned frequently as an afro latin rhythmic structure for bongos playing.
Looking up Clave, the structure was explained as bar 1: 1-4-7 for Clave Son, 1-4-8 for Clave Rumba, and with bar 2: 3-5 for both styles (1/8th grid).

But I can't really connect it to say a pattern like martillo. In other words where does the notion of Clave arise when playing bongos ? In tutorial videos I hear people teaching all kinds of patterns, but those seem straight 4-4 (maybe to make the teaching easier). But as I am practicing the martillo, I can't imagine how to "incorporate" the Clave rhythm in my playing. (Maybe being a total beginner has something to do with it :) ).

Anyway, I found this interesting on Clave:
https://www.ethanhein.com/wp/2013/why-i ... o-awesome/
Beatnik07

Re: What is the importance of Clave rhythm in bongos playing

Postby Thomas Altmann » Mon Dec 23, 2019 9:29 pm

Hi Beatnik,

first of all, don't rely only on YT-tutorials. Find a good teacher. Should be easy in Paris.

Secondly, the rhythm of clave is one thing, the movement that serves as a rhythmic key another.

Thirdly, the three-stroke part of the clave is not always the first measure (and the 2-part not always the second). If you are not familiar with clave directions 3-2 and 2-3, then you are really just at a beginning of a long and fascinating journey. If you understand a bit of German, I could recommend my articles on the clave that I published on my website. Another great resource which goes beyond the practical aspects is David Peñalosa's book "The Clave Matrix".