Ordered some bongos

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Ordered some bongos

Postby dr0 » Mon Sep 09, 2019 5:22 pm

Thanks to the many legacy posts here I learned enough about bongos to feel OK about ordering some. I'm a guitarist, but lately I've just wanted something different, that I could play without getting into the songs and routines that are involved in playing guitar. (Not that I don't love band practice, and practice and playing out, but just there are other parts of music to explore). Anyway, I ordered some Matador Customs based on quite a few posters saying they were a good choice for the price. And I've learned alot reading here, so thanks again. I'll post a picture when they come.

About 15 years ago I bought a Cosmic Percussion mini-Conga. It looks like a fun little drum, but I never really bonded with it. It's about 18" tall, and it's an awkward size to play. You can sort of play it sitting in a chair, but it down too low and wants to sit on the ground. And, if you do that, then you lose the tone. I should probably have tried to rig some sort of strap for it, but couldn't bring myself to drill it. I see some people have rigged stands for them, that's really what was needed.

Last night I was invited to the birthday party for the drummer in our band, which was held at a local watering hole. Having just ordered the bongos a few days ago I decided to make an impromptu gift of the mini-conga to him. He seemed very happy to receive it, and I hope he has more luck with it than I did. The tone on it was still nice when I picked it up.

Out with the old, in with the new.
dr0

Re: Ordered some bongos

Postby Chtimulato » Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:20 pm

Nice choice (the Matadors).