Tumba + Quinto as a set? opinions?

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

Tumba + Quinto as a set? opinions?

Postby willhutch » Thu Sep 02, 2021 8:52 pm

I have an opportunity to buy some nice congas. The pair is a 10.75" drum and a 12.25". Most would consider that a quinto and a tumba. Does any one have any strong opinions about this is a pair? Is it foolish to be considering them? Any opinions or experiences would be welcome.

I will have a chance to audition them before I buy. So I'll let my ears guide me. But I'm fairly new to the instrument and would appreciate any insight before I pull the trigger.

For context, I'll be play more salsa and U.S. popular music styles and less folkloric styles.
willhutch

Re: Tumba + Quinto as a set? opinions?

Postby Chtimulato » Thu Sep 02, 2021 9:21 pm

Why not ? No problem in my eyes. You'll have to tune them correctly, but that's not a big problem either.

BTW, funny coincidence, I just came down upon this : https://www.congachops.com/blog-articles/2021/2/11/how-to-tune-your-conga-drums?fbclid=IwAR3wv2gU6rdU9BuwHtm_ygbuLnZfIV6XgrmsaOdX8qI7jyons37qWW6IrR0
Chtimulato

Postby willhutch » Thu Sep 02, 2021 9:33 pm

Thanks for the input. I guess there really are no "rules" here. In my scenario, I'd be using a 10.75" drum as my main drum. What pros/cons do you guys anticipate from this? IS this a weird thing to do? or do a lot of guys do this?

Again - I don't think I need to be like anyone else....just looking for insight from those with more knowledge.
willhutch

Postby Thomas Altmann » Thu Sep 02, 2021 9:39 pm

Welcome willhutch,

to me, 10:75 is not really a quinto. It's a good size for your main /center drum. As far as I know, Gon Bops is the only company that is still producing drums with this diameter.