Tuning and Set-up

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

Tuning and Set-up

Postby torpedo tom » Mon Nov 26, 2012 8:31 pm

How do you tune your drums? Do you start by tuning the larger drum(s) first and then the smaller one(s) or do you do small to large? Also, I think I read somewhere, I believe JC said it, that the traditional way of setting up three drums is, in my case, since I have a quinto is the quinto in the center, conga to the left and the tumba to the right? Correct? Thanks, TT
torpedo tom

Re: Tuning and Set-up

Postby busyflyin » Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:39 am

Well, I'm no expert, but I set the quinto in the middle, the tumba to the right and conga to the left... I am right handed. If you are left handed, switch the tumba and conga. FYI; Poncho Sanchez has the quinto in front, conga next to the right, and tumba to the right of that. I can't play that way, but I guess to each his own. I have my quinto tuned to C, Conga to G, Tumba to D. Each drum a fifth lower than the previous. JC would have me tune quinto to E, but mine won't tune up to an E. Many do not tune to specific notes.. just a pleasing pitch and roughly a 5th apart. Another approach is to tune each drum to it's own "sweet spot" of sound. Every drum has a pitch where the drum sounds it's best. Finding that pitch takes a lot of work starting from low to high making small adjustments.. trial and error. You will find a number of posts here on this subject and it's a totally a personal thing. If you are new to this my suggestion is to NOT knock yourself out over this. Try a C-G-D combination and play that way for a long time.. or at least until you understand it all and become unhappy with the tuning. Don't get stuck on this.. spend your energy learning technique. Good Luck!
Performer Quinto, Conga, Tumba
LP Performer Bongos w/ Remo heads
Cajon