CONGA TUNING/DETUNING???

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

CONGA TUNING/DETUNING???

Postby JOHNNY6 » Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:36 am

Hi,as a conga newbie (but intermediate level bongo player),I was wondering if you need to tune/ detune conga heads,as you would the macho head of the bongo??? I would think not,due to the thickness of the skins...but I don't want to take any chances...I have no experience whatsoever w/conga....anything I should know about,tuning and maintenance.,would be greatly appreciated.I just bought a LP classic 11.75'' conga (top tuning) on ebay,store demo,for $ 280 w/shipping(dark brown colour) ...I think it is a decent deal based on quality and your feedbacks,unfortunately I was not able to get traditionnal rims,to match my many bongos...oh well,at least I should have decent sound,which is definetely a priority over looks...and I just realized cause it is top tuning,I probably won't be able to switch to trad.rims later!!? Thanks for all of your help so far and God bless!!!J6.
JOHNNY6

Re: CONGA TUNING/DETUNING???

Postby Mike » Fri Oct 05, 2012 3:09 am

Two words: search function ! :roll:
Thsi topic has been dicussed ad nauseam in the last 10 years...
Peace & drum
Mike

Postby Derbeno » Fri Oct 05, 2012 3:33 am

Never detuned my heads for years...No problem whatsoever
Echale candela, p'afinar los cueros
Derbeno

Postby Jerry Bembe » Fri Oct 05, 2012 5:06 am

In cold climates detuning can prevent damage from the contraction of the head. I remember a friend had a Bongo that the head popped off due to extreem cold transport in the winter.

If there aren't climatic concerns then the detuning is not as critical in most cases.
Jerry Bembe

Postby CongaTick » Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:04 pm