A newbie with a couple of questions

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

A newbie with a couple of questions

Postby Tristian » Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:50 am

Hello! I am new here, and so am going to first introduce myself to all you congueros out there. I have been playing the congas for one year, and the piano for 14 years. I am self taught on both instruments. Where I live, I have almost no access to a conga teacher. And, being totally blind, I had the challenge of finding a good Youtube video that clearly explained the basic rhythm of the tumbao, until I found an excerpt from Poncho Sanchez's Introduction To Latin Music dvd. So, I took that information to the middle school's set of Toca Player's series congas with some older version of Remo heads which were not too forgiving to the hands, even for a more experienced player. So, during the second semester of my freshman year, I took Music Study with the band teacher, which is a class where you can do absolutely any musical thing you want, like learn an instrument. So, I took that oppertunity and developed my sound. I am working at getting that signature sound you hear in Mongo's recordings. So, now onto my questions. So I've tried out several sets of congas, such as the Cp fiberglass ones, which I cringe when I hear a slap which sounds so powerful, and just what I'm looking for, until you hear the added overtone that sounds like the ringing you hear as a basketball bounces up from the ground. I have tried the Player's series, and I have quickly learned that I don't like fiberglass congas, because of the weird overtones. And, I can't aford a handmade drum that costs $800 each. So, I am going with the Thai stuff. I have played the Meinl Marathons, Lp Performers, and the aspires. I would like to hear your opinions on which conga you personally would recommend. Oh,