guidance needed

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

Postby jacman » Mon Mar 15, 2004 6:01 pm

greetings.
i've been playing drum kit for a couple of years (fyi-i'm an old guy), and i'd like to start playing Conga.
i really don't want entry level gear and i don't want to take a second out on my house.

does anyone have recomendations for a single conga?
has anyone played the LP Giovanni Compact Conga? my teacher has played one, and recomends it.
thanks. :)
this space intentionally left blank
jacman

Postby RitmoBoricua » Mon Mar 15, 2004 8:48 pm

jacman wrote:greetings.
i've been playing drum kit for a couple of years (fyi-i'm an old guy), and i'd like to start playing Conga.
i really don't want entry level gear and i don't want to take a second out on my house.

does anyone have recomendations for a single conga?
has anyone played the LP Giovanni Compact Conga? my teacher has played one, and recomends it.
thanks. :)

Get a quality full fledge 11 3/4" conga either from LP, Matador, Pearl, Meinl etc, I see them on ebay at realy good prices all the time. The compact conga will not give you a full range of tones or sounds, I see it more like a novelty than anything else.
:)
RitmoBoricua

Postby jacman » Mon Mar 15, 2004 10:28 pm

i just came back from SamAsh. they had the Compact Conga there. your were right, RitmoBoricua, i played it and didn't like the tone at all. thanks for the advice.

i'll try e-bay. i was also thinking of hitting the pawn shops. i live in Las Vegas where there is a pawn shop on every corner.
if i go that route, i'll take my instructor with me to make sure i'm not getting ripped off. :;):
jacman

Postby CongaCaja » Mon Mar 15, 2004 11:00 pm

Hi jacman,

First, I'd like to second the advice from RitmoBoricua on both points.