Buying Advice - What's the diff btwn brands

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

Postby Tonyr » Fri Dec 05, 2003 12:17 am

Hi,

I'm a non drummer looking to buy a present for a drummer that plays semi-professionally. She has a Tumba and wants a Conga. Which manufacturers/brands are best? Where do you get teh best deals? She has a LP Matador Tumbador. Any advice would be appreciated.
Tonyr

Postby CongaCaja » Fri Dec 05, 2003 2:01 am

Hi,

Well, you will get many, many opinions regarding what are they best drums, but the reality is that it all depends on the parameters of your purchase. Some parameters will be...

- how much you can spend
- what kind of music will be played
- what are the preferences of the player
- do you want a hand-crafted drum ( more $$ )
- etc, etc.

These questions are even harder to answer with the drum will be a gift.

My opinion is that considering that this drum will be for a semi-professional and she already has a LP Matador, staying with this particular line of drums is the sensible solution. Although one can definitely spend more (up to 5x's more) for a drum, Matadors are good drums that are good value for the money. (Btw, I own a Matador tumba and conga)

Granted there are other good values in the market, but if you get another Matador, it will match her current drum with respect to sound characteristics (which are a factor of shape, wood, construction, head, etc.)

Be careful! LP has a new line called "Matador Custom" which are not the same as Matador. The easy way to tell the difference is that Matador drums have chrome or gold finished hardware (rims and side plates) but the "Matador Custom" have black finish hardware.