Sol Congas & Rumba Congas

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

Postby Dig Gonsalves » Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:10 pm

Saludos, I just found this board. Has anybody tried Sol Congas? They feature 12" & 13" Tumbas, and even have a 16" Titanic model. I've heard good things about them and am ready to buy my first conga, probably a Tumba. I'll probably have to order as they don't have a dealer here in San Diego. My background is saxophone & bass... but it's time.
Paz y Ritmo.
Dig Gonsalves

Postby Tonio » Wed Sep 03, 2003 11:31 pm

I've seen the Sol congas years ago. I think it was the first model after his establishment(Valje) was burned down.
The hardware was really lame, I mean very substandard as
a professional instrument. Otherwise the drum was ok. It looked nice, I wouldn't use it as a drum to take on a gig. But that was the first model and have not seen the current offerings.
Hey I'm in San Diego too.
P.S. If your are refering to a tumba as in Tumbadora, I would suggest to try a smaller drum first. If you are looking to do more Haitian drumming maybe a Tumba is ok, but you need to learn the supportive parts first, which involves, the smaller drums and bombo, and bells etc.

Tony
Tonio

Postby Relachs » Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:10 pm

my conga teacher uses sol drums. they kick ass. real crisp with very warm and rich tones. i do know that they're quite expensive. the warehouse is located here in San Francisco, so it may be worth a trip up here if you're planning to invest the cash...they also make a really nice quinto.

good luck,
relachs
Relachs

Postby CongaCaja » Mon Sep 08, 2003 8:01 pm