Toca Traditional, Meinl Marathon, or LP Matadors? - how do they stack up against one another

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

Postby Relachs » Fri Aug 29, 2003 1:16 am

hey everyone,

i'm a newbie and it's great to see this site up and running. i've been searching for a good and knowledgeable discussion forum...this rocks.

anyway, i began taking conga lessons about a year ago and absolutely love it! growing up on latin music but never playing any instrument, i decided to take the chance and learn something new - and i have a great teacher who delivers the technical with the jamming.

I have a pair of Aspires, and am looking to upgrade a step or two - i would like to get an 11" quinto and 11 3/4" conga or similar. i have heard that Toca Traditionals and the LP Matadors are the best for the buck, however i've also read that Meinl Marathons are good quality. And...I've tried out the LP Performers series at guitar center and they sound really nice. they sound much better than the Aspires, contrary to what a couple of postings have stated.

My questions are: is one series better than the other? are they at all comparable? does one series produce fuller and deeper sounds than the rest? which of the quintos would produce 'tighter' opens and slaps? if my money is a bit tight, what is the best value i can get for about $400 total, for 2 drums? (although you can get the LP performers for $450 for 3 drums).

thans much and all best,
josh
Relachs

Postby kmmurrdog » Fri Aug 29, 2003 1:37 am