Want to buy my first set of congas - I am new and need a recommendation

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

Postby WannabeeConguero » Sun Jul 14, 2002 7:26 pm

I want to buy my first set of congas. What to buy. I don't want to spend more than 300.00 since I am new at this.
Love music and want to expand my horizons.
Any recommendations on what to buy. Thanks a million ???
WannabeeConguero

Postby JohnnyConga » Mon Jul 15, 2002 3:30 pm

:D First I would go to E Bay and see what used drums are for sale. Second I would look for a pair iof Matadors(wood) .Good middle of the road congas for a beginner with a pro feel. Reasonably priced...That is my recommendation. At your Service...JC JOHNNY CONGA.... :D
JohnnyConga

Postby congabebe » Sat Jul 20, 2002 3:27 pm

I got mine off ebay. I check daily to see what's out there. If you are patient, save up to about $500, you can get a good set that is better than the student models. I wanted to stay below 300, and you will find that the ones that are 200 + are student lines (10 to 11 inch heads) and not as good. I saw some Matadors for $475 (buy it now/no stand) that is a good deal. I looked at the shape of the drum, the fatter ones I think have a better sound, so the head sizes 11, 11 1/2, are going to be a bigger more mellow sound. You will pay about 60 to 80 for shipping and then there is tax depending on state. Toca is always cheaper than the LP's. I have seen 2 or so set with bongos go for 300 +, depending on model. Check out Musiciansfriend.com, they have some good deals and they are close to what you will end up getting on ebay. You will find there are lots of vendors on ebay. I got mine from AJ's Percussion Shop. He has good deals, and he is great to deal with. Good Luck.

Congabe
congabebe

Postby CUBOP IN CALI » Wed May 28, 2003 11:15 pm