What rhythms for rock?

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

What rhythms for rock?

Postby Robin » Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:22 pm

I am a 63 year old drummer (retired) that bought a set of Meinl Headliner congas 4 days ago. I absolutely love them---I practriced 4 hours the first day, 6 hours the second, 5 the third... I am amazed at the variety of sounds that come out of one drum.

My current practice routine
For the past 4 days, I worked on my strokes, practiced a salsa rhythm, then jammed along with whatever random song came up on Pandora music (to throw some curves at me).

My question
I randomly picked salsa as my first beat to learn. Eventually I will be sitting in with rock or country rock bands, and not latin. After I get the salsa rhythm down, what rhythms would be best to learn that I may be able to apply to rock music? Any other suggestions for a drummer learning congas for rock applications?
Robin

Re: What rhythms for rock?

Postby jorge » Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:28 pm

As a retired set drummer, your main challenge in learning congas will be mastering your hand technique. Learning new rhythms will be the easy part. Excellent playing technique will make the difference between being heard and not (even with mics), sounding great or just ok, your hands hurting a little or a lot, low or high risk of hand injury, and most importantly, how much fun you have playing.
I suggest starting out by taking a few lessons with a master conga player if that is possible. My preference for teachers is elderly Cuban percussionists who have played their whole lives without damaging their hands, who know all the folkloric and popular rhythms, and who can get great sound out of any drum. This may or may not be possible in your setting, you may have to travel to do it. Where are you located?