Yambu Palitos for Son clave

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

Yambu Palitos for Son clave

Postby bongosnotbombs » Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:04 pm

I know Yambu Havana style can be played using Son clave.

When I studied with Carlos Aldama he taught yambu using rumba clave
and a certain palitos like the top example

The palitos Carlos taught me doesn't seem to got with Son clave, it seems made for Rumba clave.

and the way I learned clave/palitos Yambu Matanzas style is like the bottom example

So I was wondering which palitos is played with the Son clave style yambu? Gary Greenbergs book puts the same style of palitos that is used with matanzas yambu with the Son clave havana yambu. Is that the usual?
Attachments
yambu.jpg
Click on this guy to read it better
Last edited by bongosnotbombs on Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bongosnotbombs

Re: Yambu Palitos for Son clave

Postby Derbeno » Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:19 am

I uploaded this one for you, as it happens I am working on exactly the same thing at the moment. Check it out.

The Cuban chaps down here are quite adamant that Yambu should only be played in Son clave. I will mention the Rumba clave concept to them.

http://s176.photobucket.com/albums/w187 ... t=Kata.flv
Echale candela, p'afinar los cueros
Derbeno

Postby Thomas Altmann » Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:32 am

While I'm open to learn some explicit rules - if there are any - from Rumba experts, my take is that Son clave was the norm with the early form of Yambú, with cajones; so if you wish to play Yambú really traditional, you pick up on that.

You could play Son clave with either of both cáscara patterns, if you wanted to go traditional. Likewise, you may use Rumba clave with any cáscara pattern. It depends on your artistic intention. The only cáscara pattern that I would never combine with Son clave is:

||: xx.xxx.x|x.x.xx.x :||